Prez Says...

by Ken Reynolds, MSDC President

Hello MSDC members. Welcome to October!

It seems like just yesterday it was the beginning of summer and just like that summer is over. Autumn is one of my favorite times of year, when the leaves start to change and the beautiful fall colors start to appear. The red, yellow, and orange leaves begin to take over the landscape.

I love to drive to Front Royal, Virginia and enjoy the colorful views. In many ways for me it was the love of the many colorful minerals that attracted me to the mineral hobby. The beautiful blue colors of azurite and covellite or the brilliant greens of a malachite or a Rogerly fluorite, the reds of corundum or zincite, I could go on and on.

One of the ways I like to share my colors is by doing mineral displays at the mineral shows. Recently we had our 66th annual Franklin/Sterling Hill mineral show in Franklin, New Jersey. I did a daylight display instead of a fluorescent display. I've provided a photo of it, along with some photos of the fluorescent displays other club members had done.

Please enjoy the pictures and I hope to see you all at our meeting on October 5 for Patrick Rowe's presentation "Silver, Born of Cataclysmic Events and Brought to us by Improbable Happenings." Meetings will continue via Zoom. Please have your silver specimens for show and tell portion of meeting after Patrick's Presentation!

-- Ken Reynolds , MSDC President