Prez Says...

by Kenny Reynolds, MSDC President

Hello MSDC members; welcome to January 2023. I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday!

Heather and I had my family and her family from Florida and her cousin from New York come and stay with us for the first Christmas in our new home. This get together was scheduled for last year but we had to postpone due to Covid, so this was a pretty special occasion for us. One of the reasons we bought a bigger house was to have the room for family to visit and stay over… and for my ever-growing mineral collection.

As with other mineral collectors I’ve met, our condo was bursting at the seams with rocks and minerals everywhere. It got to the point where you couldn’t set anything down because everything was covered with rocks, minerals, and fossils. We now have a big house and the basement is where I can keep all my stuff so it does not take over our lives!

I remember when my father-in-law came to stay with us a couple years back and stayed in our spare room. Early in his visit, he called me in and asked if there was any way I could clear off a spot that he could put his wallet and keys! Yes, it was pretty bad lol…

Next year we hope to host the MSDC holiday party at our home. I had really planned on doing it this year but with Heather's family coming and everything else going on, I just couldn’t make it happen.

It’s amazing how fast time is moving along. I can’t believe we’re in year 2023 and it doesn’t seem to be slowing down. When I was a kid it seemed like the years dragged on and you couldn’t wait to get older, but once you get old it seems like time just breezes bye. Watching my grandchildren grow is the best gauge on the passing years. It seems like just yesterday my youngest granddaughter was just a toddler and now she’s talking about getting her learners permit to drive. Oh my!

Well enough about me, I hope to hear from everybody at our January meeting. You can always sign into our zoom meeting a little early so we can hear about your holidays. Betty Thompson, who does a wonderful job hosting our Zoom meetings, usually starts between 7:00 and 7:15 pm so we all can chat.

Looking towards 2023, the future outlook for MSDC looks very promising! Even though we are not meeting in person, we are still able to meet on Zoom and our membership is growing. If you haven’t already, please take a few moments to support your club and pay your dues for 2023. You can pay online via a link elsewhere in this newsletter, or send in a check, if you prefer.  

I’m looking forward to our meeting in January and hearing from all of you! Best wishes for all of 2023!!!