Prez Says...

by Ken Reynolds, MSDC President

Hello MSDC members; welcome to December. I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving  has always been one of my favorite holidays because it truly is a day of getting together with family and friends. My wife Heather and I got to spend the day with my daughter, son-in-law, and my three granddaughters all of whom I am very grateful for.

It was quite a busy November with the Northern Virginia Mineral Club show at George Mason University the week before Thanksgiving, but I am especially grateful I am to have the show back in full force after being cancelled the past couple years due to the pandemic.

What a great show it was and it was so nice seeing so many members in our club either attending or volunteering at the show! We are very fortunate to have so many wonderful mineral clubs in the area and it’s so nice to see so many from all the clubs helping in order to make this show a great success.

Moving forward into December, we barely get a chance to catch our breath. We will be having our December 7th meeting via Zoom as we continue to work on getting back into the Smithsonian for our in person meetings, Until then, I am thankful that we have the Zoom platform to keep our club going and growing.

Because of Zoom we are able to attract people from all over that otherwise would not be able to join us – and our growing membership reflects this new capability. I expect that once we're able to  return to the Kirby Room at the Smithsonian we will need to have hybrid meetings so we can include our members in far away places, as well as other who would prefer not to attend in person.

December is also our month of elections of club officers and our board of directors. I want to thank everyone who has agreed to continue on in their positions and would also like to encourage any member who would like to be more involved with our club to step forward in nominating themselves or another member to a more active role in MSDC.

I’m looking forward to seeing you all December 7th at 7:30 pm.